The Rules to get a Permit Really Matter: Texas

Patterson has it exactly correct. The 10 hour training period has a huge impact on how many people get permits. So to does the $140 fee. For those who think that Texas is a big gun state, Texas is at the extreme end for both requirements. I had a post last month that showed a number of smaller states with a lot more permits being issued than Texas and the reason is simple: the requirements to get a permit. From the Bryan-College Station Eagle:

HOUSTON - Texans who are 55 or older are more likely to get concealed handgun permits than those who are in their 20s, 30s and 40s, according to Texas Department of Public Safety statistics.

That falls in line with national surveys that indicate seniors are more likely than any other age group to be gun owners.

In Texas, 42 percent of those who have concealed handgun permits are 55 or older. Texans who are 60 or older have about 25 percent of the permits issued, statistics show.

Former legislator Jerry Patterson, who wrote the Texas concealed weapons law, said getting the permit is often a question of time and money, factors that favor seniors.

"There are a whole bunch of folks in the 30-to-40 range who say they'll do that someday," Patterson said.

Residents who want a permit must pass criminal background checks, take a 10-hour handgun safety course and show proficiency in shooting.

The state also makes permits cheaper for seniors, who get a half-price discount. The permit normally costs $140. . . . .



Blogger Hyunchback said...

I support the concept of senior citizens getting a discount on fees for concealed carry.

1. Senior citizens are often on fixed incomes with less ability to put toward fees.

2. Senior citizens are a target community for criminals. Being slower, more frail, weaker they are seen as prey by the predators. They are more likely to be a victim of violent crime than someone in their 20s.

1/06/2007 10:03 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home